You are here

Clarinet Compositions of Ruth Schonthal

Title: The Clarinet Compositions of Ruth Schonthal: A Performer's Guide.
Name(s): Cox, Lauren J., author
Kowalsky, Frank, professor directing treatise
Kraus, Joseph, university representative
Bish, Deborah, committee member
College of Music, degree granting department
Florida State University, degree granting institution
Type of Resource: text
Genre: Text
Issuance: monographic
Date Issued: 2011
Publisher: Florida State University
Place of Publication: Tallahassee, Florida
Physical Form: computer
online resource
Extent: 1 online resource
Language(s): English
Abstract/Description: The composer Ruth Schonthal (1924-2006) taught at New York University since the late 1970s. Schonthal, born in Germany just before the rise of the Third Reich, was of Jewish descent, greatly impacting her education in the 1930s and 40s and leading her to study music in Stockholm and Mexico City as her family immigrated to safer locations during World War II. Schonthal graduated from Yale University, studying composition under Paul Hindemith. She composed seven works for clarinet, including professional level works with high technical and musical demands (written for Esther Lamneck on the NYU faculty) as well as educational pieces for advanced high school or early college students. Schonthal's harmonic language is neo-Romantic and her compositions are accessible to performers and audiences. This treatise discusses the context of her clarinet compositions, an analysis of the works, and the performance considerations. The seven works included are Sonata Concertante (clarinet and piano), Love Letters (clarinet and cello), Bells of Sarajevo (clarinet and prepared piano), Two Short Divertimenti (clarinet duet), Little Suite (clarinet duet), Tango for 2 (clarinet and cello), and Duo (clarinet and cello). Her clarinet compositions are valuable additions to the clarinet repertoire, both for performance and educational purposes, and are all currently published by Arsis Press and Furore Verlag.
Identifier: FSU_migr_etd-3348 (IID)
Submitted Note: A Treatise submitted to the College of Music in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Music.
Degree Awarded: Spring Semester, 2011.
Date of Defense: March 24, 2011.
Keywords: Clarinet Repertoire, Ruth Schonthal, Women Composers, Extended Clarinet Techniques
Bibliography Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Advisory Committee: Frank Kowalsky, Professor Directing Treatise; Joseph Kraus, University Representative; Deborah Bish, Committee Member.
Subject(s): Music
Persistent Link to This Record:
Owner Institution: FSU

Choose the citation style.
Cox, L. J. (2011). The Clarinet Compositions of Ruth Schonthal: A Performer's Guide. Retrieved from