You are here

Tianjin Trilogy

Title: The Tianjin Trilogy: Three Short Stories.
Name(s): Lohr, Heidi, author
English - Creative Writing
Type of Resource: text
Genre: Text
Issuance: serial
Date Issued: 2012
Physical Form: computer
online resource
Extent: 1 online resource
Language(s): English
Abstract/Description: Three short stories detailing the journey of James Nester through China. The United States that James came from is a country whose economy has completely collapsed, with China quickly taking its place. He is going to a job at the electronics manufacturing company, WOLFKON, in order to get money for himself and to send back to his family in the U.S. Each story is a commentary on social issues in modern China. In Blue Skies over Tianjin, we are introduced to this new China, examine the manufacturing economy, the prosperity it brings, and its costs. Wonderland takes a more personal examination of life in China as James befriends a female coworker and his supervisor, discussing the lives of people who live under the government, the public and private self, and the ways protest can manifest. Finally, in Fruit and Vinegar, authoritarianism and government corruption are explored as James searches for his friend who has been taken by the government, and James must decide whether he wishes to leave China or stay.
Identifier: FSU_migr_uhm-0107 (IID)
Submitted Note: A Thesis submitted to the Department of English in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Honors in the Major.
Degree Awarded: Fall Semester, 2012.
Date of Defense: April 9, 2012.
Subject(s): Creative writing
English language
English literature
Persistent Link to This Record:
Owner Institution: FSU
Is Part of Series: Honors Theses.

Choose the citation style.
Lohr, H. (2012). The Tianjin Trilogy: Three Short Stories. Retrieved from