You are here

Three String Quartets by Contemporary Bolivian Composers

Title: Three String Quartets by Contemporary Bolivian Composers.
Name(s): Gjevre, Naomi K., author
Clarke, Karen, professor directing treatise
Croft, James, outside committee member
Spurgeon, Phillip, committee member
Georgiev, Lubomir, committee member
College of Music, degree granting department
Florida State University, degree granting institution
Type of Resource: text
Genre: Text
Issuance: monographic
Date Issued: 2002
Publisher: Florida State University
Place of Publication: Tallahassee, Florida
Physical Form: computer
online resource
Extent: 1 online resource
Language(s): English
Abstract/Description: The Bolivian string quartet is a genre that is coming into its own, as the new generation of composers in Bolivia continues to make strides towards the modernization of their styles. Many of these quartets have never been performed, and musicians and scholars throughout the world remain unfamiliar with them and their distinctive contributions to the repertoire. This study, which has two main parts, provides an overview of Bolivian music in the context of Western art music and introduces scholars and performers to three award-winning Bolivian composers and their works for string quartet. Field research in Bolivia provided interviews with these composers, whose biographies are included, along with their insights into the scores made available in this treatise. Alberto Villalpando's Preludio, Passaccaglia y Postludio [sic.}, written in 1963, is a complex work that offers to the performers considerable ensemble challenges. Cergio Prudencio's string quartet "Gestación" (1976), introduces aleatoric elements. Lastly, Gastón Arce's String Quartet No. 1, "Una Evocación Andina"(1988: revised 1996), is the best known of Bolivian string quartets, having received its world premiere in the United States in 1998. It is hoped that this treatise will serve as an introduction to string quartets by Bolivian composers, whose contributions will enhance the standard repertoire.
Identifier: FSU_migr_etd-4258 (IID)
Submitted Note: A Treatise submitted to the School of Music in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Music.
Degree Awarded: Fall Semester, 2002.
Date of Defense: November 6, 2002.
Keywords: Contemporary Music, String Quartet, Bolivian Composers
Bibliography Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Advisory Committee: Karen Clarke, Professor Directing Treatise; James Croft, Outside Committee Member; Phillip Spurgeon, Committee Member; Lubomir Georgiev, Committee Member.
Subject(s): Music
Persistent Link to This Record:
Owner Institution: FSU

Choose the citation style.
Gjevre, N. K. (2002). Three String Quartets by Contemporary Bolivian Composers. Retrieved from